Athletics

Civility and Perspective are Valued 

Welcome to the Mahopac Central School District’s Athletic Department.  Here we oversee the day to day operations of all athletic and co-curricular programming.  Our department is committed to providing opportunities for all students to develop physical, emotional, and social skills, in a structured and safe environment.  The mission of the Mahopac Central School District Athletic Program is to prepare our students to become productive and contributing citizens of our community and society. We believe that a comprehensive program of student activities is vital to the educational development of our students. The Athletic program is an extension of this philosophy.

The  Athletic Program at Mahopac is an integral part of the school’s educational program. Interscholastic competition provides students with physical, mental and emotional experiences, which benefit not only the individual but the school and total community as well. Participants have an opportunity to acquire qualities of total fitness, self-discipline, loyalty, and devotion to a cause greater than themselves. Winning will always be kept in the proper perspective at Mahopac.

For more information on our department, or any related matters, please check this webpage for resources or contact John Augusta at 845-628-3256 ext. 11880.

Athletic Department Forms

  • In order to tryout, practice, and/or participate in interscholastic athletics students must have a current sports physical and be certified by the school nurse. Physicals are considered current for 12 continuous months and must be within a year from the beginning of the sports season. Should the date of the physical expire during the sports season a new physical is required.
  • Physical exams may be given by the school physician or the student’s family physician with review and approval by the school’s physician. They must include blood pressure reading and urine test for sugar and albumin.
  • The school nurse has sports physical sign-ups several times throughout the year prior to each sports season. The school’s physician will be available at the high school to perform sports physicals during this time. The following paperwork must be fully completed and turned in: “Sport Physical Certification Form”

When the above requirements have been met, the school nurse will certify the students for interscholastic athletic participation.

Please follow the following links to acquire the relevant documents. 

MCSD Sport Offerings

MCSD Sports Offered by Season:

Spring
Baseball – V, JV & Freshman
Boys Lacrosse – V, JV,  JV "B"
Girls Lacrosse – V, JV, Modified
Boys Tennis – Varsity
Golf – V
Boys & Girls Track – V
Softball – V & JV

Fall
Football – V, JV & Freshman
Girls Soccer – V, JV & Modified
Boys & Girls Cross Country – V, JV & Modified
Boys Soccer – V & JV
Field Hockey – V, JV & Modified
Volleyball – V, JV & Modified
Girls Tennis – V
Cheerleading – V and JV
Girls Swimming - V

Winter
Boys Basketball – V, JV & Freshman
Girls Basketball – V & JV
Wrestling – V & JV
Gymnastics – V
Bowling – Boys and Girls Varsity
Skiing – Boys and Girls Varsity
Cheerleading – V & JV
Ice Hockey – V & Modified
Boys & Girls Track – V
 

Student Athletic Council

The Mahopac Student Athletic Council was established to enable the students of Mahopac an opportunity to get involved with the total athletic program at Mahopac.

The Athletic Council is a way for our students to give something back to our community and at the same time promote everything that is positive about our students, school, and athletic program.

The Student Athletic Council has been involved with a number of very special events throughout the years. These include the Senior Prom for Senior Citizens, Midnight Madness, March Madness, Kids Fairs, Special Olympics, Tantalos Memorial Day, Holiday Parties for Green Chimney and the Women’s Resource Center, Recognition Night’s and our annual school Pep Rally.

The activities give our students a chance to get involved with the positive promotion of our athletic department at the highest level.

For further information please contact Athletic Director John Augusta in the Athletic Office.

SPRING HEAD COACHES - 2019

                    SPRING HEAD COACHES

Varsity Baseball Myckie Lugbauer MLugbauer27@gmail.com
JV Baseball Greg Fitts FittsG@Mahopac.org
Freshman Baseball Craig Kropa Kropac@Mahopac.org
Varsity Softball Cristina Giansante Giansantec@Mahopac.org
JV Softball Chris Ford FordC@Mahopac.org
Varsity Boys Lacrosse Joe Bucello Coachbucello@gmail.com
JV Boys Lacrosse Chris Longo Jjsclongo@aol.com
Varsity Girls Lacrosse Jim Lieto LietoJ@Mahopac.org
JV Girls Lacrosse Christian D'Amore D'Amorec@Mahopac.org
Modified Girls Lacrosse Samantha Karner SKkarner@gmail.com
Golf Ray Fortini Fortinir@Mahopac.org
Boys Tennis James Melville MelvilleJ@Mahopac.org
Girls Track Kelley Posch Posch@Mahopac,org
Girls Track Martin Rodriguez RodriguezM@Mahopac.org
Boys Track Vin Collins CollinsV@Mahopac.org